Italy Trip - Practices begin soon!

For fan discussion of the Vanderbilt Commodore women's basketball program, games and recruiting.

Moderators: kerrigjl, BrentVU, jfgogold, NateSY, KarenYates, Vandyman74, roanoke, VandyWhit

DoreFan49
Chief

Italy Trip - Practices begin soon!

Post by DoreFan49 »

The Italy trip is supposed to begin on August 5th.From what I’ve read, teams taking this opportunity for summer play can practice starting 10 days before and on days where they have no games. So practice will likely begin in the middle of this week.

Assuming all players are healthy and in good shape, this should give the coaching staff and the players a good glimpse of the possible future for this team next season. This will include determining the best roles for each of these players.

It is way too early to predict a starting lineup for the 2023-24 Commodores but it might be not too early to begin to make some observations about it.

I am no expert but here are a few of my observations about where the thirteen players might fit in to CSR’s plans. Some players may have multiple roles depending upon their development.

Here is I see it with regards to their possible positions,

Point guards

Jordyn Cambridge Gr
Jordyn Oliver Gr
Bella LaChance Sen
Madison Greene Fr

Shooting Guards

Iyana Moore Soph (Redshirt Junior)
Jada Brown Soph
Ryanne Allen Soph
Justine Pissott Soph
Aga Makurat Fr

Small forwards

Jordyn Oliver Gr
Jordyn Cambridge Gr
Madison Greene Fr

Forwards

Sacha Washington Jun
Aiyana Mitchell Fr
Khamil Pierre Fr
Justine Pissott Soph
Aga Makurat Fr
Bailey Gilmore Fr
Ryanne Allen Soph

I think we have a lot of experience and talent and depth at all positions which will greatly improve our performance offensively and defensely. With a much bigger and stronger frontcourt, our rebounding (a weakness last season) will certainly see improvement.

I am looking forward to a season that will begin a new era of success in the SEC and the NCAA!

VandyJim
Chief