Good Article About Coach Ralph

For fan discussion of the Vanderbilt Commodore women's basketball program, games and recruiting.

Moderators: kerrigjl, BrentVU, jfgogold, NateSY, KarenYates, Vandyman74, roanoke, VandyWhit

MikeADore
Rear Admiral

Good Article About Coach Ralph

Post by MikeADore »

Seadog73
Admiral

Re: Good Article About Coach Ralph

Post by Seadog73 »

Read it earlier tonight. Really cool story about her AND her mom. True pioneers.
VandyWhit
Site Admin

Post by VandyWhit »

Yes, very good article. Interesting to realize that I was in/around Chapel Hill around the same time as her mom. I remember the type of basketball "specifically tailored" to women. In high school in Florida, it was six-on-six with nobody crossing the center line. Around the time I graduated, they switched to the "roving guard" where one player from each team could roam the whole court. (In my mom's day, the court was divided into 3 sections; she was a "side center" and played in the middle section.) In the early 70s I played in a rec league in Chapel Hill that was 5-on-5 fullcourt, pretty much like what we have today - history progressing right before my eyes although of course I was completely unaware of it at the time.
geeznotagain
Admiral

Post by geeznotagain »

VandyWhit wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 9:17 pm I remember the type of basketball "specifically tailored" to women. In high school in Florida, it was six-on-six with nobody crossing the center line.